County Profile

About Butler County

Butler County is located in south central Kansas. It is the largest county in the state per square mile. The county has a total area of 1,446 square miles, of which 1,428 square miles is land and the remaining 19 is water. Butler County is mostly grass-covered rolling hills with broad river valleys winding through them. Elevations range from 1,625 feet in the eastern portion of the County in the Flint Hills to 1,148 in the Walnut River Valley.

Butler County’s largest community is El Dorado, which is also the county seat. In addition to the county government, Butler County contains 29 townships, 13 cities, 11 rural water districts, 11 watershed districts, 9 unified school districts, 13 fire districts, and 1 community college.

Elected Officials

Butler County is governed by a five member Board of County Commissioners that meets weekly in regular sessions. Commissioners are elected according to geographical areas and serve four-year terms with those terms overlapping.

In addition to the Board of County Commissioners, citizens of Butler County also elect five other positions: