Fireworks are a fun part of many holidays! The Butler County Board of County Commissioners has defined fireworks as "any combustible or deflagrating composition, article, or device suitable for use by the public for the purpose of producing a visible or audible effect by combustion, deflagration, or by detonation and previously approved by the Chemical Laboratory of the United States Department of Transportation, by the Kansas State Fire Marshal’s Office and by the Butler County, Kansas."

While fireworks are fun for all ages, there are some limitations on when fireworks can be discharged, as well as what kinds of fireworks are allowed. There are some variances on these permissions depending on where you live in Butler County as some cities have their own guidance on the usage of fireworks within their cities' limits. 

Click the links below for more information about fireworks usage for the area where you live in Butler County. Please contact your city's City Hall with questions or for more information about the usage of fireworks within that city's limits. For questions about discharging fireworks in unincorporated areas of Butler County please contact Butler County Emergency Communications at 316-322-4398.

Have a fun and safe holiday!