Operations Division


The Operations Division of Butler County EMS coordinates the department's staffing, personnel, response capabilities, and human resources functions that allow for efficient day-to-day emergency responses, transfers, and special event coverage services that we provide to all citizens and visitors of Butler County, Kansas.

Call Volume

Annually, as the only 911 response agency in the county, Butler County EMS technicians responded to 7,200 calls for assistance. BCEMS not only provides emergency EMS response, but also assists local facilities by providing inter-facility hospital transports.

10583969_916197498394776_3766792733556910856_n (1).jpg
We respond to calls for assistance in and around Butler County, which is about 1,400 square miles in size, and Kansas' geographically largest county. Within our county and response area are the cities of El Dorado, Augusta, Andover, Rose Hill, Douglass, Benton, Towanda, Leon, Cassoday, Rosalia, Potwin, Burns, and Latham.


BCEMS normally operates five 24-hour Advanced Life Support (ALS) medic units from four EMS stations located around the county. If needed, BCEMS has the potential of operating up to seven ALS medic units. Each unit is normally staffed with two EMS professionals, at least one of which is a Kansas certified Paramedic. These crews work 24-hour shifts (8:00 am to 8:00 am) and are divided into five teams across three duty shifts.

All total, the operations fleet of Butler County EMS consists of seven ambulances, four rapid response vehicles, and two mass casualty support trailers.