Pleasant Township

Local constituents and new comers to the area should have a working knowledge of their township system. According to the county attorney, a township is a political and territorial subdivision. Townships are creatures of statute (state) and have the authority to implement the statutes. Townships were generally divided by territories of 36 square miles. There are 29 townships in Butler County. As of 1990, there were 36 counties (in the state) operating under the township road system.

Three elected board members serve each township: Trustee, Treasurer, and Clerk. They have separate jobs and equal decision-making authority regarding the township (including hiring, firing, road repairs, equipment, and overall operations).

Each position has certain responsibilities listed in Kansas law and state statutes, according to the county attorney.