Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)


Each county in Kansas is expected to have a Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), comprised of emergency response agencies, hospitals, industries, and community groups (see the list of Butler County member agencies / industries below).


Some of an LEPC's primary responsibilities include:

  • Preparing and regularly reviewing their jurisdiction's Emergency Operations Plan, as well as coordinating training exercises for stakeholders on the Plan
  • Collecting information on hazardous materials stored throughout the county
  • Analyzing potential risks to the community
  • Evaluating the adequacy of warning systems and evacuation procedures (as they relate to hazardous material spills / releases)
  • Promoting the community right-to-know law to the public and provide educational materials / resources to the community

For more info on the legislation behind the LEPCs, view SARA Title III.

Butler County LEPC Representatives

Our LEPC is made up of representatives from the following agencies and industries across Butler County:

  • American Red Cross
  • Andover Fire and Rescue
  • Andover Police Department
  • Augusta Airport
  • Barton Solvents
  • Board of County Commissioners
  • Butler County Community Development
  • Butler County Conservation District
  • Butler County Emergency Communications
  • Butler County Emergency Management
  • Butler County EMS
  • Butler County Landfill
  • Butler County GIS
  • Butler County Health Department
  • Butler County Sheriff's Office
  • Butler County School Superintendents / USD 394
  • City of Rose Hill / Rose Hill Police Dept
  • DaVita Andover Dialysis
  • El Dorado Correctional Facility / Dept of Corrections
  • El Dorado Fire Department
  • El Dorado Police Department
  • Everyday El Dorado 
  • Flinthills Services
  • Holly Energy Partners
  • HF Sinclair - El Dorado Refinery
  • Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks
  • Kansas Medical Center
  • K-State Research and Extension
  • Mears Fertilizer
  • Phillips 66 Pipeline, LLC
  • Rausch Medical Clinics
  • Savage Services
  • South Central Mental Health
  • Susan B. Allen Memorial Hospital
  • Towanda Fire Department
  • Tallgrass Energy Partners
  • Wheat State Manor

The 2023 chairperson for the Butler County LEPC is Pam Dunham of Butler County GIS. The vice chair is Keri Korthals of Butler County Emergency Management. Tara Ghere with Butler County Emergency Management was reappointed as the Secretary/Information Coordinator. Questions about the LEPC or requests for information should be directed to Butler County Emergency Management at (316) 733-9796.

The Kansas Division of Emergency Management maintains a page of LEPC resources on their website. That information can be accessed here.

To review the Butler County LEPC's approved By-Laws and Procedures, click here.

LEPC Notification