Board of County Commissioners

2023 BOCC- Website Photo


  • 9:00 am
  • Weekly on Tuesdays
  • Butler County Courthouse
    Fourth Floor, Commission Meeting Room
    205 W. Central
    El Dorado, KS 67042

Please check the meeting agenda for date and times of meetings as they may change.

About the Board

The Board of Butler County Commissioners is comprised of one representative from each of the five districts.

  • Kelly Herzet is the 2023 Commission Chair
  • Dan Woydziak is the 2023 Commission Vice Chair

The County Commissioners set policy for the county and are vested by Kansas state statute with the following legislative and administrative powers and duties:

  • Supervision of county property
  • Organization of townships following statutory procedures
  • Control of the financial affairs of the county
  • Approval of the annual budget
  • Levying of county taxes
  • Designation of depositories for the county treasurer
  • Construction and maintenance of roads and bridges
  • Approval of land use and zoning policies
  • Issuance of bonds
  • Awarding of contracts
  • Incorporation of cities
  • Creation of special districts
  • Setting of salaries of all county officials
  • Providing a jail, courthouse, office space, and supplies for all county officers and the district court
  • Appointment of members of various boards and commissions
  • Serving as the local board of health