Click to Home
Go To Search
District Court
About District Courts
District courts are created by the Kansas constitution. They are the trial courts of Kansas, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including:
  • Care of the mentally ill
  • Conservatorships
  • Damage suits
  • Divorce and domestic relations
  • Guardianships
  • Juvenile matters
  • Probate and administration of estates
  • Small claims

It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. Kansas is divided into 31 judicial districts, with a varying number of counties and judges in each district.

13th Judicial District
Butler, Elk, and Greenwood counties makeup the 13th Judicial District. We have four district court judges and two district magistrate judges. The chief judge, in addition to judicial responsibilities, has general control over the assignment of cases within the district and general supervisory authority over the administrative functions of the county.

Butler County District Court

201 W. Pine
El Dorado, KS 67042

Ph: (316) 322-4358
Fx: (316) 322-4310 

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm