Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Title work consists of changing the way a title reads. This can include, but is not limited to: registering a vehicle in your (or another person's name using a power of attorney) for the first time, adding or changing the listed lienholder, adding or changing a transfer on death designee, removing or adding an owner, or titling the vehicle as an antique for the first time (regardless of whether the vehicle's ownership is changing).
Andover Driver's License Office640 N Andover RdAndover, KS 67002
You may contact them at 316)733-0106
Transfer fees $10.50
KHP Staffing and Training Fee $2.00
Law Enforcement Trn Ctr Fee $1.25
Registration:Autos less than 4500 lbs. $39.00
Autos over 4500 lbs. $49.00
12M Trucks $49.00
Trailers:2,000-8,000 lbs. $44.00
8,001-12,000 lbs. $54.00
12001 lbs. and over $64.00
a. If the empty weight of the trailer and the load combined is less than 2,000 lbs. registration is optional. Our Office recommends registering and titling trailers at initial purchase time for proof of ownership. If a farm trailer hauling the farmer's own product has a load of less than 6,000 lbs. registration is optional. For fees on trucks with gross weight of over 16,000 lbs. call the Butler County Motor Vehicle Office at 316-322-4200.
b. Property tax is paid at the time of registration/title application and is determined by the State of Kansas. The exceptions are heavy trucks, non-recreational trailers, and mopeds, whose taxes are determined by the County Appraiser's Office.
c. Reflectorized standard plate fee is $0.50
d. Sales tax will be collected in the Motor Vehicle Office if the vehicle is purchased from an individual, purchased out of state or if the sales tax paid to a dealer was less than the sales tax rate where the vehicle will be registered.
e. The fee to transfer a tag is $20.50 plus the difference in the property tax.
f. Lien holder fee is $1.50
Acceptable forms of payment are cash, check, credit card, money order, and cashier's check. There is a convenience fee retained by the credit card processing company if using a debit or credit card and the person whose name is on the front of the card must be present with identification proof in order to sign the receipt.
If you do not have the physical title because your lienholder retains it until the lien has been satisfied, ask your lienholder to fax a copy of the front and back of the title to either Butler County Motor Vehicle Office. Have the vehicle inspected by the Kansas highway patrol and get a MVE-1 certificate from them. You will then need to bring your MVE-1 certificate, the out-of-state registration, and your current insurance card for that vehicle. We will then do a one-time courtesy registration. A letter will be sent to the lienholder stating the vehicle is now registered in Kansas with the lienholder still listed with an active lien and a request that the original title be sent directly to the Butler County Motor Vehicle Department. The vehicle’s registration will not be able to be renewed until the original title is received from the lienholder.
If you do not have the physical title because the title is held electronically by the last titling state due to a lien having been applied to the vehicle's title you will need to provide proof that the title is held electronically by that state. The proof of electronic titling should be on "official letterhead" and have at least the following information on the same page: name of owner(s), lienholder's name, VIN, vehicle's year and make, state in which the title is held electronically held, date the vehicle was titled, and an indication of some sort that the title is held electronically by that state. Some states' vehicle registrations include this information while sometimes the previous titling state needs to fax in verification of an electronically held title.
The Kansas Highway Patrol requires the all of the following items and information for salvage vehicles filing for rebuilt salvage status:- Printed pictures of the salvage vehicle prior to repair of damage from the auction ONLY.- Original receipts for all parts and material used to reconstruct the vehicle.- If the vehicle is repaired with used parts the original receipt needs to have the VIN number of the parts vehicle. - Original receipts from the individuals should be in the Bill of Sale format and have VIN number for the parts vehicle.
Vin Inspection Times and Locations
Butler County Courthouse 205 W Central El Dorado, KS 67042 Wednesday 9:00AM - 12:00PM Fax:316-320-7965 Phone:316-322-4200
Western Office (Next to Augusta Airport) 4800 W Beech Dr Suite 10 Augusta, KS 67010 Monday 8:30 AM - 12:00PM Fax:316-733-5334 Phone:316-733-9781
Sedgwick County Offices Phone:316-660-9110
Wichita Main Tag Office Clean Out-of-State Titles Only 2525 W Douglas Monday - Friday 7:30AM - 3:15PM Fax:316-262-4761 Phone: 316-265-5644
Kechi Center 1900 E Tigua (HWY 254 & Rock Rd) Monday - Friday 7:30 AM - 3:15 PM Fax: 316-744-8008 Phone: 316-337-7418 No Salvage/Rebuilt Salvage, Bill of Sale or Affidavit inspections after 2:30 PM
The military individual claiming the exemption must be shown on the title as a legal owner of the vehicle(s) and must claim Kansas as their permanent resident state with the military (as seen on LES.) One of the following situations must apply for the military individual to receive the exemption: in the full-time regular military service of the United States (stationed or deployed,) in the National Guard or Reserves (under Title 10 or 32) and mobilized or deployed, active Guard or Reserve status.
Documents needed for exemption are: Current full month LES showing home of record & BAH zip code showing where you are stationedOrders/ORB/ERB Completed Military Personnel Affidavit for Motor Vehicle Tax Exemption (TR-601)
OUT OF STATE RESIDENTS STATIONED IN KANSAS- Military personnel NOT CLAIMING Kansas as their home state of record are exempt from paying personal property taxes on all vehicles they choose to title in Kansas. The individual in the military must be listed as an owner on the Kansas Title of the vehicle being registered.
All of the following situations must apply for the military individual to receive the exemption: Kansas is not their permanent resident state with the military, their &/or their spouse’s name is shown on the title as the legal owner of the vehicle, in the full-time regular military service of the United States, absent from their permanent resident state in compliance of military orders and the personal property is located outside the permanent resident state, and the personal property being claimed for exemption is not used in or arising from a trade or business.
Documents needed for exemption are:Current full month LES showing home of record & BAH zip code showing where you are stationedOrders/ORB/ERBCompleted Military Personnel Affidavit for Motor Vehicle Tax Exemption (TR-601)